Buenaventura and Lofgren address reason behind USC disqualification

*Photo taken during TALAKAY: The 2018 University Student Debate on May 2 at Ugnayang La Salle.

Karen Buenaventura and Macauly Lofgren have been disqualified from their respective incoming positions as University Student Council (USC) President and Vice President, as per Article 7, Section 2 of the 2013 Amended USC Constitution stipulating that officers are automatically disqualified if they have “obtained a failing grade in any of the subjects enrolled immediately before and/or during his/her term.”

In an interview with The HERALDO FILIPINO, both parties confirmed that the disqualification is due to a failing grade during the last semester of AY 2017- 2018. However, they will still serve the Lasallian students in their respective positions as Buenaventura will be a member of the Agapay Pugay Kalikasan (APKa) organization while being open in aiding the incoming USC lineup.

“Support pa rin [naman] ako sa kanila (USC). Isang text lang, isang tawag, ‘pag kailangan naman nila ako nandiyan lang ako,” she said.

Meanwhile, Lofgren is appointed as the USC Chief of Staff. Although the position is not an Executive Board (EB) role, Article VI, Section 1 d. of the 2013 Amended USC Constitution stipulates that the President holds the power to create special committees. As per Lofgren, the role of Chief of staff is “to oversee the departments under the [USC] which is the department of public affairs, and planning and logistics.”

Despite no longer sitting in a position for USC, Buenaventura expresses her gratitude to the student body who had supported her, and apologizes for any disappointment brought by the disqualification. Meanwhile, she wishes that students will give the new USC slate the same amount of trust they had given to her.

Gusto ko rin na yung tiwala na ibinigay nila sakin, sana ‘yon din yung tiwala na maibibigay nila [sa] uupong bago.” she expressed.

Lofgren also shares his confidence for the incoming USC 2018 – 2019 slate. “I hope they [Lasallians] know that even without a title, a leader can still serve, and that’s exactly what I’m gonna do,” he said in regards to his position as Chief of Staff.


New USC lineup

The USC 2018-2019 lineup is as follows:

President Jessica T. Lorino
Vice President Nathanael D. Layugan
Secretary Fiona Dominique T. Raguin
Treasurer Jason C. Real



*For the remaining positions of Auditor and Business Manager, there will be an appointment coming from the Legislative Board (LB) or recommendations coming from the college councils and deans.

As per incoming USC 2018 – 2019 President Jessica Lorino, the new lineup is not made from succession but from election within the USC.

Kasi, we’ve decided na following the consti, mage-eelect kami kung  sino most deserving uupo sa position,” she clarified.

Furthermore, despite different appointment from their original positions, Lorino assures that the slate’s plans and platforms will continue on. “Overwhelming siya kasi it’s a first time. But rest assured na gagawin namin lahat para maging maayos yung academic year, lalo na ngayon na may papasok na freshmen.”