Dasmariñas Ballers Club down 0-1 in NBL finals against Paranaque Aces

The Dasmariñas Ballers Club lost Game 1 of the best-of-three championship series against Parañaque Aces, 71-85, in the inaugural season of the National Basketball League (NBL) on December 5, at San Dionisio Gym in Parañaque City.

DLSU-D Patriot cager John Cantimbuhan charged the Baller’s offense with 22 points and complimented it with eight rebounds, four assists, and a steal. However, his night was plagued with twelve turnovers as he and the rest of the Dasmariñas Ballers succumbed to the might of the aces. Fellow Patriot Jastine Amponin chipped in two points, two rebounds, and one assist.

The Baller’s squandered a six-point lead in the first quarter as the Aces pummeled them with a four-point lead, 16-20, following the two-point buzzer-beater from Parañaque’s Julius Reyes.

The following quarter was still in the hands of the Aces, stretching their four-point lead in the first quarter to a 10-point game with a score of 31-40 at the end of the first half.

Following the gruesome first half of the Ballers, they managed to come back in the game. They cut down the lead into two points, 53-55, during the 3rd quarter despite still being inflicted with turnovers, missed opportunities, and miscommunication.

The Ballers’ agony continued in the fourth quarter, allowing the Aces to spark a 13-point run to secure the match, 53-68, with six minutes remaining in the clock. This put the Aces in the lead until the end of the game and ending their domination with the final score of 71-85.

Leading the Aces was Pruvil Bermudes with 26 points, five rebounds, three assists, and two steals to help Parañaque clinch the first game of the series.

The Ballers will defend their homecourt Ugnayang La Salle (ULS) for the second game of the title showdown on Saturday, December 8, to prevent the Aces from being crowned the first-ever NBL champions.



Dasmariñas (71)

Cantimbuhan: 22, Castro: 18, Rabe: 12, Caparida: 6, Paisal: 4, Amponin: 2, Gabion: 2, Acain: 2, Tumamao: 2, Gabriana: 1, Delos Santos: 0, Brito: 0, Villadarez: 0, Salvador: 0, Estanislao: 0, Sornet: 0


Parañaque (85)

Bermudes: 26, Quilatan: 13, Sunga: 13, Ollano: 9, Galit: 6, Gusi: 6, Maldinger: 4, Reyes: 4, Jasmin: 2, Olegario: 2, Prado: 0, Arce: 0, Custodio: 0, Pineda: 0

Post a Comment