Patriot cagebelles suffer game 1 defeat in NCRAA ‘23 finals

The DLSU-D cagebelles seized a sorrowful best-of-three championship beginning as they bowed down to the Rizal Technological University (RTU) Lady Thunders in a tight 41-45 loss in the 23rd season of the National Capital Region Athletic Association (NCRAA) women’s basketball at the Olivarez College Gymnasium on February 16.

Maintaining their undefeated streak, Lady Thunder Crislyn Mier distributed an 11 point slate triumph for RTU. On the other hand, Patriot Agatha Azarcon hauled a 17-point tally to lead DLSU-D.



Composing for the rhythm

Redeeming their momentum, Lady Thunder Nina Ybañez started the scoring spree with a rainbow shot before Joselyn Ayhon fired a layup shot to post a 5-0 run early in the first canto.

Down by four, Patriot Marie Limpangog secured a point from her layup shot after an assist coming from Josele Jumawan, 11-15. The Patriot cagebelles balanced the game as team captain Divine Diaz unleashed a fastbreak layup, putting the score to a 15-all standoff.

The Lady Thunders lengthened their gap further after a layup and a jump shot attempt from Crislyn Mier and Jeremiah Yonzon, driving a 23-28 slate.



Insufficient Shot

Azarcon slashed DLSU-D’s deficit to six through a layup shot, nailing a 31-37 mark as the fourth canto commenced.

With less than a minute left in the game, the green-and-white cagebelles drew the scores closer after Azarcon released a sure-fire layup shot, 38-41.

The match intensified as the Dasmariñas–based cagebelles tied the game through another rainbow shot by Azarcon but with the Lady Thunders’ spirit ignited, RTU secured victory through Mier’s free throw shots to declare a four-point triumph, 41-45.

The Patriot cagebelles will face the undefeated Lady Thunders in the game two of the finals on Monday, February 22.