Mojares becomes first CCJE recipient of St. John Baptiste De La Salle Award in Luntiang Parangal 2017

Bachelor of Science in Criminology Jonathan Mojares made history for his college, the College of Criminal Justice of Education (CCJE), after becoming the first CCJE recipient of the highest institutional student award, the St. John Baptist De La Salle Award for Excellence in Leadership, during the Luntiang Parangal 2017 held at the Ugnayang La Salle on May 31.

In his acceptance speech, Mojares expressed, “There will be times [that] we will be under rock bottom. We just have to climb our way up. There are people that are willing to help us. Be always grateful, do not forget about them when you are already at the top.”

Aside from being the St. John Baptist De La Salle Award for Excellence in Leadership awardee, Mojares is the incumbent CCJE Student Council (CCJESC) Vice President this academic year.

Not forgetting to acknowledge those who helped him win the award, he expressed his gratitude to his best friend Reem Salvador, CCJE Dean Alrien Dausan, and his family for their support throughout his college life.

The other nominee in the category was College of Science and Computer Studies Student Council (CSCSSC) President Ervylle Abarintos.

Leader, CSC of the Year

As for the other big award categories, La Salle Filipiniana Dance Company (LSFDC) President Rudy Alduñar and College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology Student Council (CEATSC) won the Leader and College Student Council of the Year awards, respectively.

Alduñar shared that he was not expecting the win, “Kasi parang yong mga kalaban ko, they are good leaders tapos ako … first time kasi in-open sa PAG (Performing Arts Group) ‘yong Leader of the Year Award… ‘yong mga ka-org ko, sila yong nag-push sa akin na magpasa ako [ng requirements] kasi I deserve [it] daw,” he expressed.

Aside from winning the Leader of the Year award, Alduñar was also awarded the PAG Officer of the Year award, while his organization, LSFDC, was awarded as the PAG of the Year award.

With his award, Alduñar delivered a message to the Lasallian students, “Ipagpatuloy lang natin yong pagmamahal natin sa culture [natin]. ‘Tsaka kung anong mayroon tayo, ipagmalaki natin. Kasi ayon yong nakita kong panghahawakan natin habang buhay—‘yong culture natin.”

On the other hand, CEATSC President Patricia Dequito said she was overwhelmed as her fellow SC officers did not expect that they would be the recipient for the College Student Council of the Year award.

Kaya kami (CEATSC) nagpasa is for the compilation talaga dahil kailangan din namin siya sa college. Bonus na lang talaga itong pagkapanalo. Kay Lord talaga namin ino-offer ‘yon,” she mentioned.

Winners of the night

Meanwhile, the other student winners in the Luntiang Parangal 2017 are the following:

Program Council of the Year: Industrial Engineering Program Council
Co-Curricular Organization of the Year: Junior Philippine Institute of Accountants
Interest Organization of the Year: The DLSU-D Communication and Media Society (COMMSOC)
Best Student Fund Raising Project: Get Pinked 2016: Walk of Awareness on Breast Cancer, Junior Marketing Association
Best Outreach Project: Back to Basics (Campus Journalism Outreach Seminar), HERALDO FILIPINO
College of Business Administration and Accountancy (CBAA) Student Council Officer of the Year: CBAASC Vice President Jeremy Grace Laspoña
CCJESC Officer of the Year: CCJESC President Liezl Llapitan
CSCSSC Officer of the Year: CSCSSC President Ervylle Abarintos
Program Council Officer of the Year: Communication Program Council President Justine Dela Cerna
Interest Organization Officer of the Year: COMMSOC Vice President for External Affairs Mariah Joenelle Baldo
Student Commission on Election Commissioner (SCE) Officer of the Year: SCE Commissioner Yna Patricia Tan
Writer of the Year: HERALDO FILIPINO News Editor Jazmine Estorninos
Visual Artist of the Year: HERALDO FILIPINO Senior Artist John Chesleigh Nofiel
Vicissitude Editorial Board Member of the Year: Lealyn Reyes