LSFDC wins back-to-back 2nd runner-up in 28th PHILTOA Cultural Dance Competition

Returning with a back-to-back victory, the La Salle Filipiniana Dance Company (LSFDC) won second runner-up for the second time in the annual 28th Philippine Tour Operators Association, Inc. (PHILTOA) Cultural Dance Competition held at the SMX Convention Center, Pasay on September 3.

LSFDC President Rudy Alduñar stated that LSFDC won its first award at the 27th PHILTOA Cultural Dance Competition held from September 2 to 4 of last year, wherein they placed second runner-up as well. “Six years na kaming (LSFDC) sumasali sa [PHILTOA Cultural Dance] competition, first time pa lang yong nanalo kami last year,” he mentioned.

When asked what he felt about LSFDC’s win, Alduñar said that it was an “overwhelming victory” as they doubted if LSFDC could still win against the other competitors since their dance routine required high skills and was already previously performed.

On the same note, Executive Vice President for Planning and Research Jezreel Faith Tan expressed, “Worth it kasi bago lang yong sayaw so kailangan namin ng maraming preparations, ‘di lang sa mismong sayaw kung ‘di sa costume rin, props, and ‘yong pinaka-routine.”

As for their chosen dance piece, Tan mentioned that LSFDC chose Panay Bukidnon’s tribal dance ‘Binanog’, which mimics the movements of a hawk.

LSFDC also included the story of a ‘Binukot’, the well-known tradition of the Panay Bukidnon tribe, wherein the seclusion of a child, usually a young woman, is practiced to ‘prepare for marriage’, as per Tan. “Siya yong simula pagkabata, decision ng family niya kung ia-isolate ‘yong bata o hindi. Sobrang alalay yung binukot.”

Under the college division of the 28th PHILTOA Cultural Dance Competition, the seven participating universities—including DLSU-D—are the Rizal Technological University (RTU), Lyceum of the Philippines University (LPU)-Cavite, LPU-Batangas, Our Lady of Fatima University, First City Providential College (FCPC), and Immaculate Conception.  

The competition’s results landed FCPC in the first place while RTU secured the first runner-up spot.