CBAA students bag major awards at Luntiang Parangal 2018

The College of Business Administration and Accountancy (CBAA) students took home the major awards at Luntiang Parangal 2018 yesterday, May 25, at the Ugnayang La Salle (ULS) as Business and Operations Management Society President Jean Gabrielle Dela Cruz became the St. John Baptist De La Salle Award for Excellence in Leadership recipient and College CBAA Student Council (CBAASC) together with CBAASC 2017-2018 President Shiela Ann Catanghal were recognized as College Student Council of the Year and Student Leader of the Year, respectively.

The event was attended by Lasallian students nominated in the Luntiang Parangal award categories and various members of the administration donned in Filipiniana attire, as per Luntiang Parangal tradition.

‘Small organization’ awardee

On being awarded the St. John Baptist De La Salle Award for Excellence in Leadership, the highest institutional student award in the University, Dela Cruz shared that that the win was “surprising” for her as those nominated alongside her were also deserving of the title.

“Leaders come from any place and leaders can be seen from the heart,” shared Dela Cruz, noting the integrity of all of her fellow nominees.

The awardee of the highest award of the night, Dela Cruz hails from the Business and Operations Management Society, a recognized student organization under the Council of Student Organizations.

“No matter how challenging a small organization can be, it was my task, it was my job to make [BOMS] be known to the whole University and make an impact,” she shared after her acceptance speech.

As for her message to current and future Lasallian leaders, she said that they must be “passionately excellent” in every aspect of their lives while putting the students first.

“It’s not always about you. It’s about serving. It’s about the other people and it’s about inspiring and influencing them for the better,” Dela Cruz shared.

CBAASC reacts

With CBAASC snagging the College Student Council of the Year award, CBAASC President Catanghal shared that the feeling was overwhelming for the entire council, “Nasa cloud nine kaming lahat. Lahat ng buong pagod ng isang buong taon, na-recognize ‘yung council. Binibigay namin lahat ng glories sa itaas.”

As all of the council’s activities were advocacy-inspired, Catanghal shared that the SC’s last major event, KAPITAL, made a mark and tested the SC’s strength from event-planning to the online controversies surrounding it.

To the incoming CBAASC executive board as well as to the CBAASC candidates who weren’t elected in the University Student Elections, Catanghal shared her wisdom, “’Wag niyo isipin yung posisyon, isipin niyo, passion niyo to serve the students.

Also receiving the award for Student Leader of the Year, Catanghal again felt overwhelmed upon winning, as she shared that CBAASC’s win was already enough for her. She also emphasizes “integrity above everything” as her parting words for current and future Lasallian leaders.

“A great leader is someone who influences change and influences people to become an influence of change to other people,” said Catanghal when asked what makes a great leader.

She furthered that being a leader doesn’t stop within the confines of DLSU-D, as “Every day is a challenge for us to be able to really serve the people,” noting that service to the community should carry on after University.

Student awardees

Other winners in the group and individual category are as follows:

Performing Arts Group (PAG) Officer of the Year: TEATRO President Rica Mae B. Barinque

PAG organization of the Year: La Salle Filipiniana Dance Company

Program Council of the Year: Biology Program Council/Industrial Engineering Program Council

Co-curricular Organization of the Year: Junior Philippine Institute of Accountants (JPIA)

Interest Organization of the Year: Accounting Enrichment Society

Best Student Fund-raising Project: Art Attack Year 12: Glamour of Figments, JPIA

Best Outreach Project: Agri – Tulong Drive 2017: A Backyard Gardening Advocacy, Council of Student Organizations (CSO)

CBAASC Officer of the Year: Shiela Ann C. Catanghal

COEdSC Officer of the Year: Bryan Allan P. Bobadilla

CSCSSC Officer of the Year: McElvin R. Liceralde

CLACSC Officer of the Year: Razmelle Joyce L. Cryz

CCJESC Officer of the Year: Kathlene Joy L. Narte

Program Council Officer of the Year: Berwin Lloyd Christian E. Duran/John Erwyn C. Dayrit

Co-curricular Organization Officer of the Year: People Management Society General Secretary Maryam C. Zabihi

Interest Organization Officer of the Year: The DLSU-D Communication and Media Society President Kathlyn S. de Vera

Student Commission on Election Commissioner (SCE) Officer of the Year: John Cedrick L. Lacro

Writer of the Year: The HERALDO FILIPINO In Charge, News Naomi Lane T. Tiburcio

Artist of the Year: The HERALDO FILIPINO Graphics and Layout Director Mikaela L. Torres