Br. Gus, La Salle presidents to Duterte admin: ‘Drop sedition charges’

In a statement released last August 2, De La Salle Philippines (DLSP) presidents demand the government to drop sedition charges over former DLSP President Bro. Armin Luistro FSC and De La Salle University-Manila College of Law founding dean Atty. Jose Manuel “Chel” Diokno.

The Department of Justice (DOJ) summoned Luistro and Diokno last July 26, along with 34 others, following the charges filed by the Philippine National Police Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (PNP-CIDG) on the release of video series “Ang Totoong Narco List” that tagged President Rodrigo Duterte over drug-related activity.

“The government is for all and not just for those who agree with the policies of the Administration,” the statement reads, which also states that they were just exercising their freedom of speech in expressing dissent and opposition to the Duterte administration.

The said statement was signed by  Br. Augustine “Gus” Boquer FSC, president of De La Salle University – Dasmariñas and De La Salle Medical and Health Sciences Institute, along with DLSP Chief Executive Officer Edgar Chua, and 13 other La Salle presidents.

Moreover, the statement also calls for Filipinos “to voice out their views in support of human rights and democratic principles,” and for Lasallians to support Luistro and Diokno.

In light of the charges, the One La Salle for Human Rights and Democracy released a unity statement last July 21 that garnered waves of signatories among Lasallian student leaders across DLS schools, statingthat filing the sedition charges is “part of the systematic maneuvers meant to stifle meaningful dissent.”

Post a Comment